Compact Equipment

JUN 2018

Compact Equipment is a magazine dedicated to equipment owners and operators of small, nimble, tool-carrying construction, landscape and ag equipment — such as skid steers, mini excavators, compact tractors, generators compressors and beyond.

Issue link: http://digital.compactequip.com/i/992822

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 47

6 Compact Equipment JUNE 2018 O peration is the coolest part of this job. Over the last 18 years, I've gotten behind the joysticks and steering wheels of a zillion different machine models (maybe not an exact number). I've operated everything from giant mining trucks to tiny mini excava- tors, and those experiences (both operat- ing and interviewing the machine experts) have provided me a great foundation to spearhead the editorial direction of one of the best machinery publications in America. In fact, we actually like to differentiate ourselves as an equipment media brand by getting out in the field and operating machinery, and one of our big goals for 2018 was to get our staff out of the office to kick tracks, explore manufacturing facil- ities and operate the latest models chang- ing the equipment industry. This June print issue is dedicated to not only run- ning those cutting-edge machines and giving our insights about that experience but also visiting the facilities, talking to the head honchos and experiencing the culture these iconic machine brands create. I gotta say: It was pretty fun to do, and we're pleased with the results. In this specialty issue of CE, we traveled around the country to operate everything from crawler booms and telehandlers to excavators and utility vehicles. We hit Volvo Construction Equipment in Shippensburg, Pa., to experience a wheeled excavator. We stopped by Kubota headquarters in Grapevine, Texas, to off-road some UTVs. We headed north to West Bend, Wis., to compare skid steers made my Gehl. We visited JLG and John Deere and operated all types of equipment, discussing technology and trends with the big brains at all these famous manufacturers. It kind of made us realize that the office is a little boring, so in our next issue expect reports from us visiting two of the industry's top engine manufacturers — Perkins and Hatz — to better understand the evolving diesel industry and talk new tech and product. The best way to learn about the rapidly changing equipment industry is to get out and experience the machines and the brands behind them, and we'll continue to do that in every issue of Compact Equipment . Keith Gribbins Associate Publisher kgribbins@benjaminmedia.com P U B L I S H E R ' S M E S S A G E The best way to learn about the rapidly changing equipment industry is to get out and experience the brands behind it. That's why we're visiting Perkins in Kentucky for our July/August print issue. On the Road Again Our June Issue Encapsulates How We Educate Ourselves and Readers PUBLISHER Robert Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com EDITORIAL Associate Publisher Keith Gribbins kgribbins@benjaminmedia.com Managing Editor Pam Kleineke pkleineke@benjaminmedia.com Contributing Staff Editor Chris Crowell ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com SALES+MARKETING Director of Marketing Kelly Dadich kdadich@benjaminmedia.com Advertising Sales Manager Ryan Sneltzer rsneltzer@benjaminmedia.com Account Manager Todd Miller tmilller@benjaminmedia.com Event Sales Manager Brittany Cline bcline@benjaminmedia.com PRODUCTION+FULFILLMENT Production Manager Chris Slogar cslogar@benjaminmedia.com Graphic Artist Sarah Haughawout shaughawout@benjaminmedia.com Director of Web/Audience Development Mark Gorman mgorman@benjaminmedia.com Audience Development/Sustainability Coordinator Cayla Poteete cpoteete@benjaminmedia.com REPRINTS Wright's Media 877.652.5295 • Fax: 281.419.5712 ® Chief Executive Officer Bernard P. Krzys bkrzys@benjaminmedia.com President Robert Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com Controller Marianne Saykes msaykes@benjaminmedia.com 10050 Brecksville Rd. Brecksville, OH 44141 USA 330.467.7588 • Fax: 330.468.2289 E-mail: info@benjaminmedia.com

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Compact Equipment - JUN 2018